We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Vivaldi's Four Seasons by candlelight | London Concertante

Saturday September 29, 2018 at 19:30
St Giles' Cathedral, Edinburgh
from £19
Book Online Book by Email
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Divertimento for Strings No 1 in D K 136 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  2. Serenade for Strings in E minor Op 20 - Sir Edward Elgar
  3. Concerto for 2 violins and strings in D minor BWV 1043 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  4. Le quattro stagioni, 'The Four Seasons' Op 8 - Antonio Vivaldi
  5. Les cuatro estaciones portenas, 'The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires' - Astor Piazzolla

Indulge in this diverse programme as London Concertante present Four Seasons from both hemispheres, works by English mastermind Sir Edward Elgar, and German giants, Bach and Mozart.

London Concertante was founded in 1991 and has gone on to garner an outstanding international reputation. Alongside regular series of concerts at St. Martin-in-the-Fields and Southwark Cathedral, the ensemble also performs at the Southbank Centre, Cadogan Hall and Wigmore Hall, as well as performing across the length and bredth of the UK. International tours have taken them to the USA, Spain, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Ireland, Finland, and they will be touring to Italy and again to Spain later in the year. Their numerous recordings receive regular airplay on global radio stations.

Enjoy a concert of two halves as the ensemble transport you between seasons, continents and eras with movements from both Vivaldi’s 17th Century Italian 'Autumn' and 'Winter' and Piazolla’s mid 20th century Argentinian 'Spring' and 'Summer' from their own larger Four Seasons works. While Vivaldi’s Four Seasons are iconic for their tumultuous storms, virtuosic passages and stunning melodies that encapsulate the baroque period, Piazzolla’s Seasons are some of the most well recognised and advanced examples of the ‘Tango Nuevo’ genre, full of excitable flourishes and fiery, dance-like rhythms alongside highly passionate, gliding folk-like melodies. Many comparisons can be made between the two works, such as the three-movement structure of each ‘Season’ and numerous direct quotations of Vivaldi’s masterpiece into Piazzolla’s heavily influenced piece. Although many will recognise the opening bars of Elgar’s Serenade for Strings, the second, slow movement is of particularly sublime composition, featuring a stereotypically pastoral opening through a stunningly indulgent melody and accompaniment that will transport you straight out of London and deep into the heart of the countryside. This is joined by Mozart’s delightful, yet compact, three movement Divertimento in D, with a charming opening movement and an energetic, exciting and brilliant finale. The equally virtuosic Concerto for 2 Violins by Bach completes the program, and features an audience favourite sublime slow movement, before putting its dexterous demands on full display as the pair of violins battle for soloistic supremacy in a dazzling final movement.

If you don’t consider yourself ‘in the know’ about Mozart, Beethoven, or Bach, fear not, this is the orchestra for you. The London Concertante boasts an impressive audience record in which an impressive 50% of spectators are first time classical concert goers! The London Concertante has its audience laughing at jokes, gasping at virtuosity, moved by gorgeous string playing, and leaving with a smile on their faces.

“Beautiful music. Amazing experience.”
– a happy audience member! (March 2017)

“beautiful... [the] experience was fantastic... simply magical.”
– another happy audience member! (September 2017)

“They play with tone as soft as velvet, bow strokes that really sing and a Romanticist's wide volume range”
– Evening Standard

St Giles' Cathedral
Royal Mile
This advertisement was submitted by London Concertante.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.