We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Rhys Concessao (piano) plays Beethoven / George Lloyd's Symphony No 4

Saturday May 19, 2018 at 19:30
St Barnabas Church, Ealing, London
£14 / £12 / £6 / £1 under 16
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Carnival Overture Op 92 - Antonín Dvorák
  2. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 1 in C Op 15 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  3. Symphony No 4, 'Arctic' - George Lloyd

We continue our theme of 'Fourths', and of championing British music, with George Lloyd's Fourth Symphony. For the first public performance in 1981, Lloyd wrote these words:

"On the title page of my Fourth Symphony I wrote "... a world of darkness, storms, strange colours and a far-away peacefulness.” That for me was the Arctic; during the winter of 1941 - 42 I had seen some of its terrifying aspects, its violence and immensity so overwhelming that even men's barbarity to each other seemed to become less horrifying than it was. In 1945 I started to try to compose again; my impressions and experiences inthe Arctic had become something of an obsession and they gradually formulated themselves into a symphony . . . where the music, the sea, an orchestra, my own anguish, all became mixed up together."

Chilling! We also look forward to welcoming Rhys Concessao for Beethoven's First Piano Concerto, and round off the evening with some lively Dvorák.

St Barnabas Church, Ealing
Pitshanger Lane
W5 1QG
This advertisement was submitted by Ealing Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.