We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Sunday June 17, 2018 at 15:00
The Hawth, Crawley
Phone for tickets: 01293 553636
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Fanfare for the Common Man - Aaron Copland
  2. In the hall of the Mountain King, from Peer Gynt - Edvard Grieg
  3. 2nd movement: Allegretto, from Symphony No 7 in A Op 92 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  4. Overture to 'William Tell' - Gioachino Rossini
  5. The Lark Ascending Op 50 - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  6. Concerto for horn and orchestra No 4 in E flat K 495 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  7. Danse macabre in G minor Op 40 - Camille Saint-Saëns
  8. An der schönen, blauen Donau, 'Blue Danube Waltz' Op 314 - Johann Strauss II
  9. Excerpts, from Symphony No 6 in B minor, 'Pathétique' Op 74 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky

Booming percussion and blazing brass announce the opening of Copland’s Fanfare for the common man and the beginning of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s Here Come the Classics extravaganza. This concert brings you a selection of enjoyable and familiar works, so whether you are a regular concert-goer or just getting into classical music, this performance has something for everyone!

The programme includes dramatic and thrilling works including Grieg’s In the hall of the Mountain King, Beethoven’s Allegretto from his Seventh Symphony (recognisable from The King’s Speech) and Rossini’s William Tell: Galop and spine-tingling pieces such as Vaughan Williams’s The Lark Ascending, Mozart’s Horn Concerto and Saint-Saëns's Danse Macabre, used as the theme tune for the TV series Jonathan Creek.

This sumptuous programme of classical masterpieces is entertaining and captivating and is a concert not to be missed!

The Hawth
Hawth Avenue
West Sussex
RH10 6YZ
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.