We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Gusztáv Fenyo (piano) – Bach/Shostakovich Series (4/5)

Tuesday May 8, 2018 at 20:00
City Halls Recital Room, Glasgow
£15, £5 concession (under 26, full-time students, disabled, unemployed), under 18 free
Phone for tickets: 0141 353 8000
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday: 10am to 6pm
Other Sources: Box Office at City Halls, open Monday to Saturday: 12pm to 6pm
Book Online
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Preludes and Fugues Nos 9-16, from 'The Well-Tempered Clavier', Book II - Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. 24 Preludes and Fugues Op 87 - Dmitry Shostakovich
    • Prelude and Fugue No 16 in B flat minor
    • Prelude and Fugue No 17 in A flat
    • Prelude and Fugue No 18 in F minor
    • Prelude and Fugue No 19 in E flat

JS Bach’s ‘The Well-Tempered Clavier’, a monumental collection of 48 Preludes and Fugues, is recognised as one of the supreme achievements of Western music. Rich in musical invention and expression, its influence continues to resonate widely today. Shostakovich’s 24 Preludes and Fugues, composed some 200 years later and modelled directly on the Bach work, has been acclaimed as one of the pianistic jewels of the twentieth-century.

Gusztáv Fenyo performs these two extraordinary cycles side-by-side in five recitals, each beginning with Bach and ending with Shostakovich, thus offering a unique listening experience which highlights their formal connections. This imaginative coupling is not only innovative and challenging but also, potentially, a gateway to understanding the musical language of our own time.

One of Scotland’s leading musicians, Gusztáv Fenyo has been highly praised for his cycles of works by one composer, including Beethoven’s 32 Sonatas, Chopin’s complete solo piano works and Shostakovich’s 24 Preludes and Fugues.

Related to the legendary Hungarian violinist Joseph Joachim, he has performed a comprehensive solo, chamber and concerto repertoire on three continents and broadcast for the BBC, ABC and Hungarian Radio. His commercial recordings include the violin/piano music of Bartók, Delius and Goossens, as well as works by Mozart, Beethoven, Chopin, Liszt, Stanford, Dunhill and Bantock.

Winner of the Australian Broadcasting Commission's concerto competition at age 18, Gusztáv Fenyo studied in London with Schnabel's disciple, Maria Curcio, and at the Liszt Academy in Budapest, where he introduced works by Stockhausen, Boulez, Xenakis, Cage and Takemitsu. His Wigmore Hall début premièred Games by Hungary’s leading composer, György Kurtág.

‘…the kind of musical charisma that seems to sharpen the listener’s powers of concentration…’ The Herald, Glasgow

Next in series: 22 May

City Halls Recital Room
G1 1NQ
This advertisement was submitted by Fenyo Music-Makers .
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.