We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Exeter Symphony Orchestra play Bach, Mozart and Brahms

Saturday March 24, 2018 at 19:30
Southernhay United Reformed Church, Exeter
£15 (unreserved; in advance/at the door); £1 under 18s
Phone for tickets: 01392 665700
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday 0930-1630; Bank Holidays 1000-1600
Other Sources: £12 from Exeter Symphony Orchestra members in advance
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Toccata and Fugue in D minor BWV565 - Johann Sebastian Bach, arranged by Leopold Stokowski
  2. Sinfonia Concertante for violin, viola and orchestra in E flat K 364 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  3. Symphony No 2 in D Op 73 - Johannes Brahms

Fresh from two successful public performances and an orchestral evensong in the splendour of Exeter Cathedral, the Exeter Symphony Orchestra is pleased to return to the more intimate surroundings of the Southernhay United Reformed Church for its next event. We are also delighted to welcome back two old friends as soloists - Sarah Greinig and Adrian Lock - who will join us to perform Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante for violin, viola and orchestra.

The concert will open, however, with a musical 'lollipop' in the form of JS Bach's dramatic and much-played organ masterpiece, but in the almost over-the-top, full orchestra arrangement by Leopold Stokowski!

Finally, Brahms's sublime second symphony will bring the concert to a close. This challenging work exploits the tonal and dynamic range of every mainstream instrument of the orchestra to deliver matchless sonority. Along with his three other symphonies, it could be said to represent the height of 'conventional' symphonic form - and it's simply a wonderful piece to play or listen to!

Southernhay United Reformed Church
Dix's Field
This advertisement was submitted by Exeter Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.