We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Dvorák's Symphony No 7, Mendelssohn and Stravinsky | Oxford Symphony Orchestra

Saturday March 17, 2018 at 19:30
Oxford Town Hall, Oxford
£16, over 60s £14, accompanied under 16s free, students aged 16-25 and those in receipt of benefits £5
Phone for tickets: 01865 305305
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Symphony in 3 Movements - Igor Stravinsky
  2. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 1 in G minor Op 25 - Felix Mendelssohn
  3. Symphony No 7 in D minor Op 70 - Antonín Dvorák

Dvorák's seventh symphony is often said to be his finest and also to be one of the most glorious of all symphonies, richly melodic and a work of depth and passion. Mendelssohn's First Piano Concerto is virtuosic and sparkles with brilliance and lyricism. Our soloist is the highly talented young pianist Magdalene Ho. Stravinsky composed his Symphony in Three movements in 1942-45, after emigrating to the USA. He said it had links in his imagination with cinematographic images of war and the music itself has echoes of his ballet score The Rite of Spring.

Oxford Town Hall
St Aldate's
This advertisement was submitted by Oxford Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.