We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Letchworth Sinfonia New Year Concert

Saturday January 13, 2018 at 19:30
Letchworth Free Church, Letchworth Garden City
£10 per ticket, £5 for 18s and under
Phone for tickets: 01462 487868
Phone lines open: 9am to 4pm
Other Sources: Letchworth Tourist Information, 33-35 Station Road, Letchworth in advance
Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Overture, from La clemenza di Tito K 621 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  2. Variations on a Rococo Theme in A Op 33 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky
  3. Serenade for 13 wind instruments in E flat Op 7 - Richard Strauss
  4. Symphony No 99 in E flat - (Franz) Joseph Haydn

We launch our 2018 concerts in the new year, with our new conductor Rowan Baker and look forward to welcoming you along. The concert on Saturday 13th January will feature 4 pieces, including Tchaikovsky's Rococo Variations for cello and orchestra (featuring Veronica Henderson), Haydn's Symphony no 99, Mozart's 'Titus' Overture, and Richard Strauss's Serenade for wind instruments. The term 'Rococo' refers to a period in the late Baroque era, and is typified in art, architecture, and music by elaborate detail, ornamentation, delicacy of colour and smallness of scale, not exactly what you normally think of when you have the Romantic composer Tchaikovsky in mind, with sweeping emotional extremes. However the simple and elegant theme undergoes numerous different personalities at the hand of the composer, with some ferociously difficult virtuoso demands made on the soloist. It is Tchaikovsky at his musical best - giving more than a nod to his musical idol Mozart.

Letchworth Free Church
Norton Way South
Letchworth Garden City
This advertisement was submitted by Letchworth Sinfonia.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.