We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Bristol Concert Orchestra: Symphonie fantastique

Saturday June 30, 2018 at 19:30
St Mary Redcliffe Church, Bristol
£15, £12, £10 (concessions £2 off), under 18s £1 any seat (+fee)
Other Sources: at the door (from 7pm, concert night only) - cash only
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Dido's lament - Henry Purcell, arranged by Leopold Stokowski
  2. Dona nobis pacem - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  3. Symphonie fantastique Op 14 - Hector Berlioz

This concert of two halves opens with Stokowski's string arrangement of Purcell's heartrending Dido's lament, 'When I am laid in Earth', providing an incredibly effective prelude to Vaughan Williams's empassioned plea for peace Dona nobis pacem (written after the composer's experiences as an ambulance driver in World War I) and recognised as a neglected choral masterpiece. For the second half, the incredible Symphonie fantastique - the 'programme symphony' written by a 27-year-old Berlioz telling the (autobiographical) story of "an artist gifted with a lively imagination" who has "poisoned himself with opium" in the "depths of despair" because of "hopeless, unrequited love."

The five movements of this hallucinatory tale include a beautiful waltz, the famous 'March to the Scaffold' and concludes at the funeral of the hero attended by sorcerers and monsters. Or, as Leonard Bernstein put it "Berlioz tells it like it is. You take a trip, you wind up screaming at your own funeral." Fantastical indeed…

There will be a retiring collection in aid of The Stroke Association.

St Mary Redcliffe Church
12 Colston Parade
This advertisement was submitted by Bristol Concert Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.