We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

York Guildhall Orchestra - Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky and Berlioz

Saturday May 19, 2018 at 19:30
York Barbican, York
£22, £19 and £15; senior citizens £1 off all tickets; children under 16 and students in full time education £5
Phone for tickets: 0844 854 2757
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday: 10am till 2pm
Other Sources: orchestra members
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Festive Overture in A Op 96 - Dmitry Shostakovich
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D Op 35 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky
  3. Symphonie fantastique Op 14 - Hector Berlioz

It will be a privilege to welcome this young man to play the Tchaikovsky concerto with us - he is a fabulous player and we are delighted to have secured his appearance and introduce him to a York audience. The Tchaikovsky is a well-known stalwart of the the violin concerto repertoire, but be assured, Jack will bring his own fresh interpretation.

The Shostakovich is a favourite of the orchestra - great fun to play with splendid tunes. To finish the concert, we will perform Berlioz's semi-autobiographical programme work, the Symphonie Fantastique - which explores the tribulations of a young musician hopelessly in love.

York Barbican
Barbican Road
North Yorkshire
YO10 4AH
This advertisement was submitted by York Guildhall Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.