We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Borough New Music Series 2 - opening recital by José Menor (piano)

Tuesday October 3, 2017 at 13:00
Church of St George the Martyr, London
Free admission – no ticket required

  1. Becomings - Sam Hayden
  2. No 9: Vertiges, from Études, Book II - György Ligeti
  3. 8 Cryptograms, for piano - Patrick Nunn
  4. Toccata - Tomas Peire Serrate

Borough New Music is delighted to welcome the acclaimed pianist José Menor to open Series 2 with a programme of spectacular and stylistically diverse works. Menor, branded 'a beguiling mix of finesse and fire' by The Daily Telegraph, will perform three premieres in this concert.

The programme includes the performance premiere of Patrick Nunn's eclectic miniatures, entitled 'Cryptograms', which explore personalities that have in some way influenced Nunn's creative output, including idols such as Ligeti. Menor also features some Ligeti in this recital. There follow two pieces written specially for Menor: Sam Hayden's complex 'Becomings', a substantial five-movement work performed for the first time in its entirety in this concert; and the world premiere of a sparkling 'Toccata' by a fellow Catalan, Tomas Peire Serrate.

Free admission. Light refreshments will be available after the concert.

Series 2 also includes concerts by the folk band Solasta (10 October), composer Stace Constaninou performing with cello and live electronics (17 October), the pianist Christopher Guild with a world premiere by Ben Gaunt (24 October), and a special recital for the winners of the Trinity Laban John Halford Piano and Composition Competition (31 October). For full details, visit the Borough New Music website

Church of St George the Martyr
Borough High Street
This advertisement was submitted by Clare Simmonds.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.