We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Across the Atlantic: Bernstein, Gershwin, Adams and Rachmaninov

Thursday March 29, 2018 at 19:30
Huddersfield Town Hall, Huddersfield
£12, £14, £19, £26; children 16 and under £1; 17 to 29 year olds: £4
Phone for tickets: 01484 225755
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 9am to 5pm; Saturday: 9am - 2pm; Box Office opens an hour before the start of each concert
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Symphonic Dances, from West Side Story - Leonard Bernstein
  2. Rhapsody in Blue - George Gershwin
  3. The Chairman Dances - John Adams
  4. Symphonic Dances Op 45 - Sergey Rachmaninov

Kirklees Concert Season closes with a programme in celebration of the Leonard Bernstein centenary, beginning with his Symphonic Dances from West Side Story. Gershwin’s instantly-recognisable Rhapsody in Blue and John Adams’s The Chairman Dances from Nixon in China, continue in the quintessentially American, jazzy vein.

Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances, written while he was in New York, bring the concert to a colourful close.

Russian pianist Sofya Gulyak, joins the Orchestra of Opera North under Finnish conductor Dalia Stasevska.

Free Talking Music event from 6.40pm

Huddersfield Town Hall
Ramsden Street
West Yorkshire
This advertisement was submitted by Opera North Ltd.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.