We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Basel Chamber Orchestra with Stephen Hough (piano)

Monday November 20, 2017 at 19:30
Cadogan Hall, London
£45 (premium seats), £42, £35, £28, £22, £18; series discounts available
Phone for tickets: 020 7730 4500
Phone lines open: Monday – Saturday 10am – 6pm
Other Sources: Box Office
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Hebrides Overture, 'Fingal's Cave' Op 26 - Felix Mendelssohn
  2. Meta arca - Heinz Holliger
  3. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 1 in G minor Op 25 - Felix Mendelssohn
  4. Symphony No 9 in C, 'Great' D 944 - Franz Schubert

The Kammerorchester Basel was founded in 1926 by the famous musicologist Paul Sacher and now ranks as one of the most popular international chamber orchestras in Europe. The orchestra plays on both modern and period instruments and is known for combined programmes of old and new music.

This evening’s concert is conducted by Heinz Holliger who is among the most versatile musical personalities of our time, talented as an oboist, conductor and composer. The programme includes his short composition for strings, Meta Arca.

The orchestra is joined by acclaimed concert pianist, writer, composer and painter, Stephen Hough for a performance of Mendelssohn’s First Piano Concerto: ‘Hough [with his] immaculate timing, pacing and placing of every note, both as glittering soloist and filigree accompanist, is the living advocate of the work’ (The Times).

The concert concludes with Schubert’s ‘Great’ Symphony No 9 – pure musical majesty.

Part of Zurich International Orchestra Series 2017-18

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace
This advertisement was submitted by Cadogan Hall Ltd.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.