We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Saturday March 10, 2018 at 19:30
The Hexagon, Reading
£25.50, £22.50; groups 10+ £12; under 18s £6; schools £6; Classical Membership Scheme £12; subscription packages available
Phone for tickets: 0118 960 6060
Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Overture, from Euryanthe - Carl Maria von Weber
  2. Notturno Op 70 No 1 - Giuseppe Martucci
  3. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 2 in F Op 102 - Dmitry Shostakovich
  4. Symphony No 7 in D minor Op 70 - Antonín Dvorák

This concert opens with the charming Overture to Weber’s opera Euryanthe followed by Martucci’s lush and pensive Notturno. Guaranteed to tug at the heart strings, Martucci’s stand-alone piece is the epitome of Romanticism, with its yearning melodic lines and luxurious orchestration.

Although the name Shostakovich prompts memories of angst-ridden, defiant works, his Piano Concerto No 2 is a gloriously free, wistful creation. Its famous second movement is especially sublime, setting the scene for the cheeky and energetic movement that follows.

Dvorák’s Symphony No 7 perfectly balances dramatic power and irresistible lyricism. With its arresting opening, gorgeous slow movement, dancing Scherzo and thrilling Finale, this is one of the greatest pieces Dvorák ever wrote.

Pre-concert talk 6.30pm - The Hexagon auditorium

The Hexagon
Queens Walk
This advertisement was submitted by Reading Arts.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.