We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

BBC Philharmonic with Vassily Sinaisky and Pavel Kolesnikov (piano)

Thursday March 8, 2018 at 19:30
Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
£35 - £10; concessions for Multibuy packages, groups, Go card holders and families
Phone for tickets: 0115 9895555
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday 9am to 8.30pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 3 in C minor Op 37 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  2. Manfred Symphony Op 58 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky

Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto owed a significant debt to Mozart, notably his dark and brooding Piano Concerto No 24, which Beethoven particularly admired. But the Third Concerto also marks a point of departure from Mozart’s Classical soundworld, its taut and cohesive structure allied to a revolutionary shift in the concerto’s range made possible by the advances in piano technology. The exciting young Siberian virtuoso Pavel Kolesnikov, recently a BBC New Generation Artist, offers Nottingham a first glimpse of his brilliance.

Written at the height of his powers, between 1878-1888, Tchaikovsky’s Manfred was his most ambitious orchestral work. At first reluctant to take on Lord Byron’s epic tragic poem, the composer faced his own titanic struggle in translating its awe-inspiring alpine setting and Manfred’s larger-than-life hero into symphonic form. But the outcome was one of Romanticism’s most impressive statements, the extremity of Byron’s verse, which the poet himself described as being of “a very wild, metaphysical, and inexplicable kind”, expressed in music that’s both powerfully evocative and thrillingly virtuosic.

Free pre-concert talk, 6.30pm in the auditorium: Tim Jones introduces the programme.

Royal Concert Hall
Theatre Square
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Concert Hall.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.