We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Esther Yoo performs Sibelius | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Wednesday May 2, 2018 at 19:30
Cadogan Hall, London
£40, £32.50, £25, £15
Phone for tickets: 020 7730 4500
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. 3 pieces in the Old Style - Henryk Górecki
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D minor Op 47 - Jean Sibelius
  3. Symphony No 1 in C minor Op 68 - Johannes Brahms

This concert will begin with Górecki’s moving Three pieces in Olden Style, a set of works a world away from much of the Polish composer’s radically avant-garde music.

Following this, the Orchestra is delighted to welcome its first ever Artist-in-Residence, Esther Yoo, to the stage to perform Sibelius’s dramatic Violin Concerto, an ethereal piece which demonstrates Sibelius’s deep understanding of the violin and showcases the performer’s ability.

The concert finishes with Brahms’s monumental First Symphony, which took the composer nearly fifteen years to write, and this is evident in the pure musical intensity throughout the work.

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.