We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra with Joo Yeon Sir (Violin)

Saturday July 1, 2017 at 19:30
West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge
£18, concession £16, student £8, under 14 £5
Phone for tickets: 01223 300085
Phone lines open: 12:30 - 16:00 on Monday, 12:30 - 19:00 Tuesday - Friday, and 15:00 - 19:00 on Saturday
Other Sources: ADC Box Office, Park St, Cambridge, CB5 8AS
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Cuban Overture - George Gershwin
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra Op 14 - Samuel Barber
  3. Pacific 231, from 3 Symphonic Movements - Arthur Honegger
  4. La Valse - Maurice Ravel
  5. An American in Paris - George Gershwin

For its abundance of energy, excitement, romance and colour, this programme cannot be bettered. George Gershwin’s ‘Cuban Overture’ was inspired by a holiday in Havana in pre-Castro days. Gershwin absorbed the essence of Cuban and indeed much of other Caribbean music and distilled it into this vibrant composition. His ‘American in Paris’ completes the concert: a longer work but every bit as characterful and just as thrilling. The orchestration is brilliant, incorporating a set of car horns among other curiosities. The Violin Concerto by Samuel Barber is one of the great 20th century examples of its genre – much more romantic than Gershwin yet unmistakably American. Now a regular soloist with the CCSO, the immensely talented violinist Joo Yeon Sir will captivate us with her spectacular technique and profound musical insight. Honegger’s depiction of a steam locomotive (called Pacific 231) is thoroughly gripping. No-one can fail to thrill as this giant ‘iron horse’ flexes its muscles and starts to move, shifting its huge tonnage slowly at first, then with everincreasing speed and vigour. Maurice Ravel’s La Valse was intended as a ballet but has gained more fame and friends as a concert item. The shadow of a waltz emerges from a musical mist to morph into a full-blooded, heart-stirring homage to the King of the Waltz, Johann Strauss. Ravel’s immaculate orchestration and super-sensitive attention to every musical nuance will bring an extra sheen to what promises to be a knock-out concert.

West Road Concert Hall
11 West Road
This advertisement was submitted by City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.