We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra with Michael Foyle (Violin)

Sunday February 12, 2017 at 19:30
West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge
£18, concession £16, student £8, under 14 £5
Phone for tickets: 01223 300085
Phone lines open: 12:30 - 16:00 on Monday, 12:30 - 19:00 Tuesday - Friday, and 15:00 - 19:00 on Saturday
Other Sources: ADC Box Office, Park St, Cambridge, CB5 8AS
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Bacchanale, from Samson et Dalila - Camille Saint-Saëns
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in E minor Op 64 - Felix Mendelssohn
  3. Spartacus Suite No 2 - Aram Khachaturian
  4. Francesca da Rimini Op 32 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky

A Valentine’s day-themed concert in mid-February has become something of a tradition with CCSO and 2017 will be no exception, though it should be said that the course of true love does not run smooth in all the works we have chosen. The wild Bacchanal with which the concert opens comes at a point towards the end of Saint-Saëns’s opera where Samson, having been betrayed by Delilah, finds that the only way out of his predicament is to pull down the temple on both of them. The final work in the concert also has a tragic outcome: Francesca da Rimini fell in love with her husband’s brother and as a punishment, the pair were condemned to whirl for ever in a storm in the second circle of Hell, according to Dante. Tchaikovsky’s dramatic, swirling music depicts the lovers’ ecstasy, their subsequent murder by the jealous husband and their everlasting fate. Spartacus and his wife enjoy a happier relationship, though sadly Spartacus does not survive till the end of the work. Khachaturian’s suite from the ballet opens with a beautiful pas de deux for Spartacus and Phrygia, music used in the 1970s as the theme tune for the BBC’s The Onedin Line. Mendelssohn’s violin concerto is one of the most popular and romantic concertos in the repertoire, and we are delighted to welcome Scottish-born Michael Foyle as our soloist. Michael led the National Youth Orchestra in 2009 and has since then won many awards and made solo appearances at prestigious venues including the Purcell Room and Buckingham Palace.

West Road Concert Hall
11 West Road

This advertisement was submitted by City of Cambridge Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2023 Concert Diary. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.