We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Golden age of violin playing (1920-1940)

Friday June 26, 2015 at 19:30
The Mackintosh Church, Queen's Cross, Glasgow
£11.50; £8.50 concession
Phone for tickets: 0141 946 6600
Phone lines open: 10.00 - 17.00
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Sonata for Violin in E HWV 373 - George Frideric Handel
  2. Concerto for violin and orchestra in E minor, arranged for violin and piano - Jules Conus
  3. Suite 'Much Ado about Nothing', for violin and piano Op 11 - Erich Korngold
  4. Deep River - Traditional Spiritual, arranged for violin and piano by Jascha Heifetz

Sonata in E major by George Frederick Handel, Concerto in E minor by Jules Conus, Fantasie in C major by Franz Schubert and an arrangement of Deep River by Jascha Heifetz – this programme reflects a popular format for concerts between the two world wars. The eclectic programmes of that time ranged from major works to exquisite encore pieces. Fantasie by Schubert is a dramatic and sublime work, showcasing the musicianship and virtuosity of its performers. The concerto by Conus is a rarely-heard masterpiece admired for its beautiful melodies.

The Mackintosh Church, Queen's Cross
870 Garscube Road
G20 7EL
This advertisement was submitted by Feargus Music.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2019 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.