We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Out of this World | Helix Ensemble (chamber orchestra)

Saturday September 15, 2012 at 7:30 pm
St Mary's Parish Church, Wirksworth
£10, Children 16 and under free
Phone for tickets: Traid Links, Wirksworth Tel: 01629 824393
Phone lines open: Mon - Sat 9.30am - 5:30pm, and Sunday 11am - 4pm .
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. The Lark Ascending Op 50 - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  2. Overture, from Der Schauspieldirektor, 'The Impresario' K 486 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  3. Suite, 'Love's Labours Lost' - Gerald Finzi
  4. Symphony No 41 in C, 'Jupiter' K 551 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

The award-winning, East Midlands-based Helix Ensemble make their first appearance in the 2012 Wirksworth Fringe Festival. The Helix Ensemble is a group of experienced musicians who enjoy performing chamber or small orchestral music, and this year the Helix Ensemble celebrated its 20th anniversary. The Helix Ensemble aims to introduce a variety of contemporary works by composers in the region performed alongside more familiar pieces, and has given the first performances of more than 20 new compositions.

Our Musical Director for the evening, Clym Stock-Williams, has chosen the lively ‘Impresario’ Overture by Mozart to open the concert, followed by the suite ‘Love’s Labour’s Lost’ by English composer, Gerald Finzi. The music was written originally as incidental music for a BBC production of Shakespeare’s play and with its light and witty style it is perfect summer music. Vaughan-Williams ‘The Lark Ascending’ is one of the nation’s favourites, on this occasion performed by London-based violinist, Emanuela Buta. The evening is brought to a close with Mozart’s last symphony, the joyful and exuberant ‘Jupiter’ Symphony, No. 41 in C.

St Mary's Parish Church
Church Walk
This advertisement was submitted by Peter Johnston.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.