We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Pieces for Pauline: a tribute to Pauline Oliveros

Sunday May 27, 2018 at 14:00
Café Oto, London
afternoon concert £8/£6 in advance; workshop £8 in advance only; evening concert £10/£8 in advance; both concerts £10 in advance only
Phone for tickets: 020 7923 1231
Phone lines open: Monday–Friday, 8.30–5pm Saturday, 9.30–5pm Sunday, 10.30–5pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Horse sings from cloud - Pauline Oliveros
  2. The space of spirit: unfolding the new born lotus - Pauline Oliveros
  3. 13 Changes - Pauline Oliveros
  4. Bird call - Margrit Schenker
  5. Otoscope - Kerry John Andrews
  6. Preoccupation tapestry - Janet Oates
  7. Cover up - Derek Foster
  8. Meditation on an oak tree - Deborah Broderick Edwards

A half-day event exploring and promoting Pauline Oliveros’s ‘deep listening’ ideas through new works and improvisations, featuring Rhodri Davies and The Vocal Constructivists.

Concert 1 (doors open at 2pm – concert starts at 2.30) explores Pauline Oliveros’s approach to ‘deep listening’ with drone-based improvised music performed by Rhodri Davies, Phil Durrant, Bill Thompson and Mark Wastell.

The Deep Listening® workshop (4pm) will be led by Viv Corringham, who has worked with Oliveros and is certified to teach ‘deep listening’. This is open to musicians and non-musicians.

Concert 2 (doors open at 7:30pm – concert starts at 8.30) will feature pieces by Pauline Oliveros and a structured improvisation from the afternoon workshop. There will also be new pieces by Kerry Andrews, Deborah Edwards, Derek Foster, Janet Oates and Margrit Schenker. The concert will be performed by Rhodri Davies, The Vocal Constructivists and members of Contakt.

Café Oto
18-22 Ashwin St
E8 3DL
This advertisement was submitted by Contakt.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.