We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Musicians from the Royal Welsh College of Music

Saturday March 24, 2018 at 15:00
St Briavels Church, St Briavels
£12, Wye Valley Music members £10, students under 25 £2
Phone for tickets: 01291 330020
Phone lines open: 24hrs; leave message; calls returned as soon as possible.
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 12 in A (piano quintet version) K 414 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  2. String Quartet No 1 in F Op 18 No 1 - Ludwig van Beethoven
  3. Première communion de la vierge, from Vingt regards sur l'enfant-Jésus - Olivier Messiaen
  4. Trio Revolucionario, for violin, viola and cello - Astor Piazzolla
  5. Piano Trio No 1 in B major Op 8 - Johannes Brahms

Wye Valley Music proudly present the best young students of music from the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama.

Amongst the players there will be a string quartet and a piano trio in addition to two pianists. This concert will feature 11-year-old Charlotte Kwok, who attends the Junior Academy in Cardiff. In January she won second prize in the College Junior Piano Concerto competition and last month won joint first prize in the Senior Piano Recital class at the Abertawe Festival of Young Musicians in Swansea.

Charlotte will open the concert by playing the first movement of Mozart Piano Concerto No 12 in A major K 414, accompanied by the Lunar String Quartet.

The Lunar String Quartet, comprised of Jordan Earnshaw and Charlotte Price (violins), Matt Jones (viola) and Cai Waverley Hudson (cello), will then play Beethoven's String Quartet Op 18 No 1 in F major, followed by a very special piano piece played by a graduate student, Tonglin Lin. Her choice is from Messaien's Vingt Regards sur l'Enfant Jesus, the 11th movement called Premiere communion de la vierge.

The second half of the programme sees the return of the Portuguese pianist Nuno Lucas, whose superb previous performances elicited very high praise from the audience. He will be performing with his all-Portuguese piano trio Maria Luis Garcis dos Santos (violin) and Matilde Viegas (cello), to play Piazzolla's Trio Revolucionario and Brahms's Piano Trio Op 8 in B major.

It is rare to be able to assemble such a range of youthful talent for a single concert. This promises to be a very special afternoon and is highly recommended.

St Briavels Church
Church St
St Briavels
GL15 6RG
Matt Jones
This advertisement was submitted by Wye Valley Music.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2020 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.