We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Romantic Bach - Jayson Gillham (piano)

Saturday October 21, 2017 at 7:30 pm
Conway Hall, Holborn
£8, £6
Phone for tickets: 020 3108 1000
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday: 12noon to 6pm
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Toccata No 7 in G BWV916 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. Prelude in E minor BWV 555 - Johann Sebastian Bach, transcribed for piano by Alexander Siloti
  3. Suite, from Partita for solo violin in E, transcribed for piano BWV 1006 - Johann Sebastian Bach, transcribed by Sergey Rachmaninov
  4. Prelude and Fugue No 28 in C sharp minor, from 'The Well-Tempered Clavier' Book II BWV 873 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  5. Prelude and Fugue No 22 in B flat minor, from 'The Well-Tempered Clavier' BWV 867 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  6. Sheep may safely graze, from Cantata No 208 BWV 208 - Johann Sebastian Bach, transcribed by Egon Petri
  7. Prelude and Fugue in A minor BWV 543, S 462 No 1 - Johann Sebastian Bach, transcribed by Franz Liszt
  8. Toccata No 2 in C minor BWV 911 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  9. Siciliano from 'Sonata for Flute and Harpsichord No 2 in E flat' BWV 1031 - Johann Sebastian Bach, arranged by Wilhelm Kempff
  10. Jesus bleibet meine Freude (Jesu, joy of man's desiring), from Cantata No 147, 'Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben' BWV 147 - Johann Sebastian Bach, arranged for piano by Myra Hess
  11. Nun freut euch, Lieben Christen g'mein BWV 734 - Johann Sebastian Bach, transcribed for piano by Ferrucio Busoni
  12. Chaconne from Partita No 2 in D minor, for solo violin BWV 1004 - Johann Sebastian Bach, transcribed for piano by Ferruccio Busoni

Romantic Bach - from intimate to epic on the modern piano. Jayson Gillham is a Bloomsbury-based Australian-British pianist with a message for his listeners: Let us not be afraid to explore the romantic nature of Bach’s music! Gillham performs original keyboard works by Bach and transcriptions of popular works including ‘Sheep may safely graze’, ‘Jesu, joy of man’s desiring’ and the Bach-Busoni Chaconne.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) was the undisputed master of Counterpoint – the art of setting independent musical lines against each other, and interweaving them to create harmony. The complexity with which Bach could compose in this manner is to this day unmatched, and the resulting beauty and depth of emotion of Bach’s music is immense. ‘From the intimate to the epic’ was all in a day’s work for Bach, who dedicated his life’s work to his god.

Bach’s keyboard music was originally composed for the organ, harpsichord and clavichord, however today most of Bach’s keyboard works are freely played on the modern piano. In addition, a number of pianists have transcribed works by Bach for the piano, exploiting the instrument’s increased range, sustain, dynamic contrast, and its uncanny ability to mimic other instruments, including the voice.

Conway Hall
25 Red Lion Square
This advertisement was submitted by Jayson Gillham.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.