We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No 2 with the London Symphony Orchestra

Sunday October 29, 2017 at 7:00 pm
Barbican Hall, London
£55 £40 £30 £20 £15 (£10 wildcard) + booking fee per transaction of £3 online or £4 by phone
Phone for tickets: 020 7628 8891
Phone lines open: 10am-8pm Mon-Sat, 11am-8pm Sun
Book Online
No tickets "at the door"
  1. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 2 in C minor Op 18 - Sergey Rachmaninov
  2. Symphony No 4 in F minor Op 36 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky

‘Where words fail, music speaks’ – Hans Christian Andersen. Nowhere does this ring so true as in these two powerful works.

Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto was created in an era of chaos for the composer, marking the end of a period of clinical depression and writer’s block. It’s a piece born from determination, that became one of his most loved works – the opening chords of the concerto one of the most iconic in all classical music.

So too is Tchaikovsky's Fourth Symphony urgent, supercharged and violent in places, reflecting the turmoil the composer found himself in while composing: a disastrous marriage, struggling with his sexuality and severe depression. Yet, despite the gloomy outlook, the symphony proves undoubtedly that Tchaikovsky knew how to fill his works with memorable melodies.

Barbican Hall
Silk Street
This advertisement was submitted by London Symphony Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.