We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Elgar's Cello Concerto - Tribute to the fallen | Suffolk Philharmonic Orchestra

Sunday November 12, 2017 at 16:00
Ipswich Corn Exchange, Ipswich
£34, £26, £20, £17; children and students £18, £14, £11, £9; disabled two tickets half price
Phone for tickets: 01473 433100
Phone lines open: Monday to Saturday 9.30am-5.30pm
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Fanfare for the Common Man - Aaron Copland
  2. Overture, from The Wasps - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  3. Concerto for cello and orchestra in E minor Op 85 - Sir Edward Elgar
  4. Adagio for Strings Op 11 - Samuel Barber
  5. Symphony No 7 in A Op 92 - Ludwig van Beethoven

JB Priestly, in The Linden Tree, captured Elgar's Cello Concerto thus: "An elderly man remembers his world before the war of 1914, some of it years and years before perhaps - being a boy at Worcester - or Germany in the nineeties - long days on the Malvern Hills - smiling Edwardian afternoons - MacClaren and Ranji batting at Lords, then Richer or Nikisch at the Queen's Hall - all gone, gone, lost for ever - and so he distils his tenderness and regret, drop by drop, and seals the sweet melancholy in a concerto for cello."

Michael Petrov, cello, born in Bulgaria in 1990, studied at the Menuhin School and the Guildhall School of Music and Drama. He has appeared with the Royal Philharmonic, City of London Sinfonia, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra and the English Chamber Orchestra in cello concertos ranging from Haydn, Dvorak and Elgar to Walton and Shostakovitch. Noiminated as European Concert Hall Organisation Rising Star, he recently gave recitals at eighteen prestivious venues throughout Europe. Michael Petrov was selected for representation by the Young Classical Artists Trust in 2013.

Beethoven's Seventh Symphony had its première on December 8, 1813 and was a benefit concert for soldiers wounded a few months earlier at the Battle of Hanau. It was one of Beethoven's most successful concerts. The slow second movement became so popular that it was often performed separately. Wagner described the symphony as "the apotheosis of the dance." In his words, "if anyone plays the Seventh, tables and benches, cans and cups, the grandmother, the bolind and the lame, aye, the children in the cradle fall to dancing.

Performed on the afternoon of Remembrance Sunday, this concert is Suffolk Philharmonic's annual 'Tribute to the fallen - a celebration of freedom', which each year features two pieces strongly associated with Remembrance - Copland's Fanfare for the Common Man, and Barber's Adagio for Strings.

Ipswich Corn Exchange
King Street
This advertisement was submitted by Suffolk Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.