We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

James Gough with Dame Gillian Weir - Bach's Trio Sonatas

Friday October 6, 2017 at 6:30 pm
Clifton Cathedral, Bristol
£10 or buy a ticket for this and The Erebus Ensemble together for £20
Phone for tickets: 0117 203 4040
Phone lines open: 9am-6pm
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Trio Sonata for organ No 1 in E flat BWV 525 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  2. Trio Sonata for organ No 2 in C minor BWV 526 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  3. Trio Sonata for organ No 3 in D minor BWV 527 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  4. Trio Sonata for organ No 4 in E minor BWV 528 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  5. Trio Sonata for organ No 5 in C BWV 529 - Johann Sebastian Bach
  6. Trio Sonata for organ No 6 in G major BWV 530 - Johann Sebastian Bach

Written around 1730, the Trio Sonatas of JS Bach are delightful 3-movement works with complete independence for hands and feet, allowing for both intimate beauty and textural complexity. They also show Bach’s priorities as a teacher, having written them for his eldest son Wilhelm Friedemann to improve both technically and musically. They resemble very few other pieces for the organ, as their texture imitates the instrumental trio sonata; and, as such, can be considered among the most difficult works to play in the repertory.

University of Bristol alumnus James Gough makes his debut at the Clifton International Festival of Music as he takes on all six trio sonatas in one evening! James is joined by Dame Gillian Weir, one of the great virtuoso organists of our time, as she sheds light on the context and composition of these great works throughout the concert.

Clifton Cathedral
Clifton Park
This advertisement was submitted by Clifton Festival.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.