We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Music of the Renaissance | Elgar Baroque Singers

Saturday September 16, 2017 at 7:30 pm
Elmslie House, Malvern
£10 (£8 concessions)
Phone for tickets: 01905 28613
Phone lines open: 10am - 6pm (Monday to Friday)
Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Sicut cervus - Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina
  2. If ye love me - Thomas Tallis
  3. This is the record of John - Orlando Gibbons
  4. Magnificat and Nunc dimittis '5th Service' - Thomas Tomkins
  5. Crucifixus, from Missa Sancti Christophori, for choir and strings - Antonio Lotti
  6. Hosanna to the son of David - Thomas Weelkes
  7. Mass for 4 voices - William Byrd
  8. Canzon sopra falt d’argens - Girolamo Cavazzoni
  9. Ricercare - Girolamo Cavazzoni

The Elgar Baroque Singers were formed just over a year ago to specialise in singing music from the sixteenth to the eighteenth century. This evening they will perform a programme which is an anthology of music largely taken from the English School of polyphonic music. Works written by leading composers of the period include Tomkins’s 5th Evening Service, a tribute to a man who for over forty years was organist at Worcester Cathedral, and the Four Part Mass by William Byrd. There are motets by Weelkes, Tallis and Gibbons while the work of Palestrina, the great master of polyphonic counterpoint is also represented. The concert also includes Lotti’s famous Crucifixus from his Missa de Sancti Christophori and keyboard music of the period by Cavazzoni.

Elmslie House
Avenue Rd
WR14 3AG
This advertisement was submitted by Department of Vocal Studies, Elgar School of Music.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.