We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Kings, Chess and Mozart | Rutland Sinfonia

Saturday May 12, 2018 at 19:30
Oakham School Chapel, Oakham
£13, concessions £11, students and under 18s £3; in advance £11, concessions £9
Phone for tickets: 01832 274734
Other Sources: Oakham Wines:3 High Street LE156AH and Oundle Box Office:4 New Street PE84ED
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Prelude to 'Richard III' - Sir William Walton
  2. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 20 in D minor K 466 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  3. Checkmate: Ballet Suite - Sir Arthur Bliss

Our Season Finale takes us from Shakespeare's (and Leicester's) famous King to the emotion of Mozart's most brooding Piano Concerto, and then to the dramatic moves of the pieces as they clash in a gmae of chess. Mozart's D minor Piano Concerto is one of contrasts. The drama of the first movement is followed by the sublime Romance and then the lively finale. We welcome local pianist Anne Bolt as our soloist.

Arthur Bliss wrote 'Checkmate' at the height of his powers in 1937 and it is considered a cornerstone of the British ballet repertoire.

Oakham School Chapel
LE15 6DT
This advertisement was submitted by Rutland Sinfonia.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.