We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Shostakovich's Symphony No 7, Leningrad | Tonbridge Philharmonic Society

Saturday February 17, 2018 at 19:30
Chapel of St Augustine, Tonbridge School, Tonbridge
£16, £15, £8
Phone for tickets: 01732 304241
Phone lines open: Monday to Friday 9.30am-2.30pm during term time (lunch 12.30 - 1pm)
Book Online Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Symphony No 7 in C, 'Leningrad' Op 60 - Dmitry Shostakovich
  2. Adagio for Strings Op 11 - Samuel Barber
  3. Fanfare for the Common Man - Aaron Copland

As we commemorate the 100th anniversary of the end of the First World War in 2018, Tonbridge Philharmonic Society have focused their season to musically represent the power of triumph over adversity in the face of such turbulent times. Firmly in the 20th century, the American composers Aaron Copland and Samuel Barber provide us music with grandeur mixed with simplicity. Copland wrote Fanfare for the Common Man in response to the US entry into the Second World War, while Barber’s Adagio, so full of pathos and passion, was voted by BBC’s Today programme listeners as ‘the saddest classical work ever’. It is Shostakovich who offers us a glimpse into the real horrors of war with his Symphony No. 7 in C major, entitled Leningrad. A symbol of resistance to the totalitarianism of the Nazi invasion, it serves as a memorial to the more than 25 million people who died in Russia in Second World War. Rarely included in the repertoire of amateur groups due to the scale of the work it will summon the orchestra to do justice to such an incredibly exciting and moving piece of music.

Tickets: £16, £15 senior citizens over 60, £8 students will be available from the Society’s box office shortly

Chapel of St Augustine, Tonbridge School
High Street
This advertisement was submitted by Tonbridge Philharmonic Society.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.