We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - The Hexagon's 40th anniversary concert

Friday November 3, 2017 at 19:30
The Hexagon, Reading
£25.50, £22.50; groups 10+ £12; under 18s £6; schools £6; Classical Membership Scheme £12; subscription packages available
Phone for tickets: 0118 960 6060
Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Cockaigne Overture - Sir Edward Elgar
  2. The Lark Ascending Op 50 - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  3. The Planets Op 32 - Gustav Holst

The 2017-2018 season marks the 40th anniversary of The Hexagon. To begin the festivities, our resident orchestra, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, bring a concert of British favourites. Beginning with the frivolous melodic lines of Elgar’s playful Cockaigne Overture, followed by Vaughan Williams’s incredibly popular The Lark Ascending, with the lyrical violin line soaring above shimmering strings. After the interval, we are excited to bring Holst’s majestic work, The Planets. A phenomenal work, each movement has a distinct character, taking you on a rollercoaster ride through the solar system. What better way to celebrate?

In addition, the concert opens with young musicians from our Emerging Artist Partner organisations playing a new work, created by them in workshops with the RPO and performed by them with the orchestra. A celebration of just some of the members of the community which contributes to The Hexagon’s varied programme of events.

With young musicians from Berkshire Maestros, Reading Youth Orchestra and Henley Music School.

Pre-concert talk 6.30pm - The Hexagon auditorium

The Hexagon
Queens Walk
This advertisement was submitted by Reading Arts.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.