We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Saturday November 11, 2017 at 19:30
Wyvern Theatre and Arts Centre, Swindon
£33, £30; students/under 16s: £10
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out

Programme to include: Grieg's Peer Gynt Suite No.1: Morning, Mendelssohn's A Midsummer Night’s Dream Overture, Barber's Adagio for Strings, Schubert's Ballet Music from ‘Rosamunde’, Elgar's Cello Concerto, Third Movement, Tchaikovsky's Symphony No 5, Fourth Movement... and many more!

Join the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra for this classical extravaganza, bringing world-class music to your doorstep.

Here Come the Classics brings you a selection of enjoyable and familiar works, so whether you are a regular concert-goer or just getting into classical music, this concert has something for everyone!

The programme includes dramatic and thrilling works, including Ballet Music from Schubert’s Rosamunde and the fourth movement from Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No 5 alongside spine-tingling pieces such as Grieg’s Peer Gynt: Morning and Brahms’s Hungarian Dance No 1.

Lest we forget: Here Come the Classics pays tribute to Remembrance Day

Greatly affected by his time in the War, Vaughan Williams’s rich sound evokes nostalgia and national pride, which you can here in his Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis, a luscious work for string orchestra. With its long, expressive lines and elegiac mood, Barber’s Adagio for Strings has been described as an anthem of mourning, having been played at a number of notable figures' funerals including John F Kennedy, Albert Einstein and Princess Grace, and has appeared in the scores to a number of films, including The Elephant Man and Platoon.

Wyvern Theatre and Arts Centre
Theatre Square
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.