We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Esther Yoo performs Sibelius | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Thursday May 3, 2018 at 19:30
G Live, Guildford
£25.50, £37, £40.50, £42
Phone for tickets: 0844 7701 797
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Holberg Suite Op 40 - Edvard Grieg
  2. Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D minor Op 47 - Jean Sibelius
  3. Symphony No 1 in C minor Op 68 - Johannes Brahms

In no other violin concerto is the soloist’s first note – so delicately dissonant and offbeat – more beautiful than in Sibelius’s Violin Concerto. Performed by the young brilliant violinist Esther Yoo, this piece demonstrates Sibelius’s passion for the violin and complete understanding of the sound of the instrument.

Propelled into action by a galloping Praeludium, Grieg’s Holberg Suite opens the concert with five contrasting baroque dances, from an ornate and stately Gavotte to a vivacious and cheerful Rigaudon.

Brahms's was the most stunning symphonic debut in musical history. From its storm-tossed opening to a blazing brass finale, the listener is carried along by the first symphony's irresistible sense of heroism and triumph.

G Live
London Road
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.