We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Dmitry Masleev performs Shostakovich | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Tuesday March 13, 2018 at 19:30
Cadogan Hall, London
£40, £32.50, £25, £15
Phone for tickets: 020 7730 4500
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Overture, from Euryanthe - Carl Maria von Weber
  2. Notturno Op 70 No 1 - Giuseppe Martucci
  3. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 2 in F Op 102 - Dmitry Shostakovich
  4. Symphony No 6 in B minor, 'Pathétique' Op 74 - Pyotr Tchaikovsky

This concert opens with the charming Overture to Weber’s opera Euryanthe, a work which paved the way for Wagner’s operatic innovations.

This is followed by Martucci’s lush and pensive Notturno. The Orchestra is then joined by Dmitry Masleev for Shostakovich’s energetic Piano Concerto No 2, before the evening is drawn to a close by Tchaikovsky’s monumental Symphony No 6, known as the ‘Pathetique’ Symphony. The Symphony bursts with passion; Tchaikovsky himself described the piece many times in his letters as the best thing he had ever composed.

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace
This advertisement was submitted by Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.