We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Wond'rous Machine: Haydn and Mozart

Wednesday June 7, 2017 at 7:30 pm
St James's Church, Piccadilly, London
£10 online, £12 on the door
Book Online
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. Symphony No 92 in G, 'Oxford' - (Franz) Joseph Haydn
  2. Sinfonia Concertante in B flat Op 84, Hob. I/105 - (Franz) Joseph Haydn
  3. Symphony No 41 in C, 'Jupiter' K 551 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Join Wond'rous Machine, a new, young, exciting period-instrument orchestra, for a programme of some of Haydn and Mozart's supreme achievements, written at the heights of the composers' powers.

Haydn's 'Oxford' symphony, written in fact for a Paris commission, is a supreme example of the composer's dialogue with his audience - his compositional wit and games challenging the listener at every turn. His Sinfonia Concertante for oboe, bassoon, violin, cello and orchestra delights in the exploration of texture and sonority that the mixed solo group affords. Mozart's final symphony unites every facet of compositional mastery with a dazzling compendium of the eighteenth-century world, containing music from every social sphere: characters from opera buffa, theatre, pastoral, military, salon and church unite in a picture of Enlightenment social harmony. The symphony culminates in a monumental fugal finale, drawing on archaic contrapuntal writing to express a newfound sense of the early Romantic sublime.

Wond'rous Machine, taking its name from Purcell's ode in praise of the orchestra, Hail, Bright Cecilia, is a new, young and innovative period-instrument ensemble. Launching with a debut 2017-18 season, the group presents exceptional performances of music from Monteverdi to Beethoven in fascinating and informative historical contexts.

St James's Church, Piccadilly
197 Piccadilly
This advertisement was submitted by BCO.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2018 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.