We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Learn more here. x

Orchestra of London perform works by Elgar

Saturday April 8, 2017 at 19:30
Eton College School Hall, Eton
£15, £5 under 16, £1 under 12
Phone for tickets: 07434 626045
Phone lines open: message can be left on ansaphone; phone checked daily
Book by Email
Tickets "at the door" - until sold out
  1. The Spirit of England - Sir Edward Elgar
  2. Larghetto, from Serenade for Strings in E minor Op 20 - Sir Edward Elgar
  3. The Music Makers Op 69 - Sir Edward Elgar

The Spirit of England was composed by Edward Elgar between 1915 and 1917, setting text from Laurence Binyon's 1915 anthology of poems The Winnowing Fan. The work acts as a requiem for the dead of World War 1 and is dedicated "to the memory of our glorious men, with a special thought for the Worcesters".
The first of Binyon's poems used by Elgar was published within a week of Britain's entry into the war. Its title, 'The Fourth of August', marks the date of the declaration of war on Germany. The second, 'To women', and the third, 'For the fallen' were written before the end of 1914, after British troops had suffered the first of many great losses during the conflict.
The completed work was first performed in Birmingham in October, 1917.

The Music Makers was first performed at the Birmingham Festival on 1st October, 1912. The text of the work is the 1874 poem Ode by Arthur O'Shaughnessy, which Elgar set in its entirety. The words of the poem no doubt appealed to Elgar's nature as it celebrates the dreaming artist. The music for the most part is reserved and personal and Elgar quotes his own music several times - The Dream of Gerontius, Sea Pictures and Enigma Variations (Nimrod). Most of the music, however, is original and Elgar more than does justice to O'Shaughnessy, displaying a perfect ear for the sounds of the chorus and the mezzo-soprano.

Eton College School Hall
High Street
This advertisement was submitted by Ros Middleton.
Print or Save this concert's QR code

Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for any errors.
Please check with the ticket vendor before you purchase your ticket. PLEASE REPORT BAD CONTENT

©2017 Concert Diary Ltd. The interactive Concert Guide specialising in listings for Opera, Ballet and Classical Music Concerts.